The Most High God Dwells with the Lowly

Isaiah 57:15

“For thus says the One who is high and lifted up, who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: ‘I dwell in the high and holy place, and also with him who is of a contrite and lowly spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly, and to revive the heart of the contrite'”

A contrite and lowly spirit

A common misconception about God is that our feelings directly correlate to the strength of our relationship or standing with Him. Fortunately, our feelings really do not affect His love for us nor do they change our place in His heart.

In fact, our feelings may completely deceive us into thinking the exact opposite of God’s true position. It is not when we are feeling a spiritual high, but when we are the lowest, the most contrite, in the most turmoil, the most disquieted that God confirms His unshakable presence. I don’t mean to say His proximity to us ever really changes—but our feelings do. And we can be confident even when we walk in the valley of the shadow of death, He is with us all the more.

  • Psalms 51:17; The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise
  • Isaiah 66:1-2; Thus says the LORD: ‘Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool; what is the house that you would build for me, and what is the place of my rest? All these things my hand has made, and so all these things came to be, declares the LORD. But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.

To revive the heart

Though contrition confirms God’s presence, it never comes to the Christian without the reciprocation of God’s comfort. His company is not for the sake of rubbing our nose in the guilt, but for strengthening our feeble knees, lifting us up from the pit, helping us regain our footing, reviving our heart.

  • Psalms 147:3; He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.
  • Psalms 30:2-3; O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me. O LORD, you have brought up my soul from Sheol; you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit.

When you find yourself wrestling with guilt, feeling far away from God, know that He is near. He is with you to help you, to comfort you, and revive you. Call on him.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

