Pray that You May Not Enter Into Temptation

Luke 22:40

“And when he came to the place, he said to them, ‘Pray that you may not enter into temptation.'”

Ephesians 6:16 tells us that in the spiritual battle we wage, faith is a shield for us in very circumstance. No matter what fiery dart the devil shoots at us, faith will quench it. One of the ways faith manifests itself in our lives is through prayer. That is, if we truly believe God–if we truly rely on Him–we will be inclined to call out to Him in trouble.

The first line of defense we have against temptation is prayer. We can think of it simply as taking refuge in God, seeking His protection, taking shelter under His wings. Before temptation comes, we can run to the Lord, petition Him to strengthen us and lead us, not into temptation, but into righteousness.

Now, the Lord knows how weak we are without Him. He knows our spirit is willing but our flesh is weak. He even knows we may not know how to pray, so He has given us some psalms for guidance.

  • Psalm 19:13; “Keep back your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me! Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”
  • Psalm 119:116-117; “Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live, and let me not be put to shame in my hope! Hold me up, that I may be safe and have regard for your statutes continually!”
  • Psalm 119:133; “Keep steady my steps according to your promise, and let no iniquity get dominion over me.”
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

